Celebrating community Celebrating learning: IOE Learning and Teaching Conference

I’ve spent part of today at the IOE’s annual learning and teaching conference and there has been lots to think about. When I go to an in-house conference I always have several things going on in my mind. First of all I’m listening for references to the library or, more particularly, resources we ought to have. Then I’m thinking about my own practice as a teacher and what I can learn that might improve my work with students and staff. And thirdly I’m listening for things that interest me as new and thought provoking.
 
  • Chris Husbands’ photo of his cookery books appealed to me as I’m a great fan of food metaphors.
  • Celia Hoyles prompted me to some rethinking on the objectives of teaching information literacy: we’re not trying to teach our students how to be librarians.
  • Sessions by Sheila King, Anne Robertson and Elspeth Jones suggested a reading of this article: Scoffham, Stephen and Barnes, Jonathan(2009) ‘Transformational experiences and deep learning: the impact of an intercultural study visit to India on UK initial teacher education students’, Journal of Education for Teaching, 35: 3, 257 — 270 
  • John Morgan gave me some ideas for the Friends of the Newsam Library and Archives study day which we’ve just started planning for next year

Like most learning events the outcomes were probably mostly unintended.

This entry was posted in Library and Archives and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.